RESTING YOUR WAY TO HEALTH

1.png

Isaiah 53:4 Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows…  

Imagine being crippled in your back for 18 long years and never being able to see the sky? All you could see was the dirt and dust of the earth (Luke 13:11). Imagine the woman with the issue of blood for 12 years (Luke 8:43). Or imagine the dreadful disease of leprosy eating a man alive as was the case in Matthew 8:2.  

What can we learn from all these people? They were all healed by Jesus! 

The poor leper in Matthew 8:2 could stand his suffering no longer, so he came out into the open to look for Jesus. He needed to know if Jesus was willing to heal him. When he saw Jesus, he fell at His feet and said, “Lord, if You are willing, You can make me clean.” (Matthew 8:2) The Son of God looked at the outcast with love in His eyes, reached out His hand, touched him and said, “I am willing; be cleansed.” (Matthew 8:3) Jesus willingly healed all these three people who were suffering from incurable diseases! 

Perhaps you are suffering from some disease and wondering if God is willing to heal you? You are not sure if He is willing because just as you have seen people get healed, you have also seen people not get healed. Don’t look to people’s experiences for what you will believe - just look to the cross! Rest in the knowledge as surely as Jesus bore your sins, He also bore your diseases!  

Isaiah 53 seals this. This chapter, on the crucifixion of Jesus, says in verse 4: “Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows”. Now the words “griefs” and “sorrows” here mean “sicknesses” and “pains” in the original Hebrew text. So Isaiah was referring to physical healing.  

If that is not enough, look at Matthew 8:16–17: “… they brought to Him many who were demon-possessed. And He cast out the spirits with a word, and healed all who were sick, that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by Isaiah the prophet, saying: ‘He Himself took our infirmities and bore our sicknesses.’”  

Matthew quotes Isaiah 53:4, saying that Jesus took our “infirmities” and bore our “sicknesses”. The context is referring to physical healing, not spiritual healing.  

If you will just rest in this truth, your days of sickness will be over. You will walk in greater health because the One who has surely borne your sicknesses and carried your pains says to you, “I am willing, be cleansed!”

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Rest in the truth just as Jesus bore your sins, He also bore your diseases!

安息得健康

2.png

以賽亞書53:4 他誠然擔當我們的憂患,背負我們的痛苦…

幻想一下你已經駝背了十八年,你能看到的只有塵土和泥濘,卻從未試過抬頭看藍天?(路加福音13:11)。想想那患了十二年血漏病的女人(路加福音8:43)? 再想想忠上活生生侵吞人身體的痳瘋病?(馬太福音 8:2)

你在他們身上看到甚麼共通點? 就是耶穌全都醫治好他們!

馬太福音8:2中那個可憐的麻風病人再也無法忍受痛苦,就出來求耶穌,他想知道耶穌是否願意醫治自己。當他見到耶穌,就跪在他面前對他說,「主若肯,必能叫我潔淨了(馬太福音8:2)。」神的兒子滿眼慈愛,看著這個被社會遺棄的人,伸手摸他說,「我肯,你潔淨了吧(馬太福音8:3)。」

耶穌願意醫治這三個身患不治之症的人!

或許你也正身患疾病,不知道神願不願意醫治你。你見過人得醫治,也見過沒有的。但是,不要以別人的經歷去決定你要信甚麼,你要相信耶穌,相信祂在十字架上為你死!相信你已擔起你的罪,背負你的病!你的心因而便能安靜下來,安息在神裡。

以賽亞書53揭示了這點。這章講的是耶穌受難,第四節說:「他誠然擔當我們的憂患,背負我們的痛苦。」這裡的「憂患」和「痛苦」在希伯來原文中的意思是「病痛」。可見,以賽亞這裡說的是身體上的醫治。

如果這都不足夠讓你相信耶穌願意醫治你,再看看馬太福音8:16-17:「…他們帶了很多被鬼附的來到耶穌跟前,他只用一句話就把鬼都趕出去,並且治好一切病人,這是要應驗先知以賽亞的話,說: 他代替我們的軟弱,擔當我們的疾病。」

馬太福音引用以賽亞書53:4說,耶穌代替我們的「軟弱」,醫治我們的「疾病」。這裡的醫治是指身體的,而非靈魂的。

你若相信這真理,讓你的心安息在神裡,病痛的苦日子就會終結。你將活出健康,因為醫治你疾病,背負你痛苦的那一位對你說,「我肯,你潔淨了吧!」

韋恩牧師


今日所思

相信耶穌擔當你的罪,醫治你的疾病,讓你的心安息這真理中!