THE SPIRIT'S REST AND REFRESHING

1.png

Isaiah 28:11–12 For with stammering lips and another tongue He will speak to this people, to whom He said, “This is the rest with which you may cause the weary to rest,” and, “This is the refreshing”...  

To counter stress, many people self-medicate by resorting to tobacco, alcohol or drugs. These things, besides having harmful side effects, are costly and often lead to addictions.  

God has something far better for us. It is powerful, costs us nothing and has no harmful side effects. He calls it “the rest” and “the refreshing”. What is He referring to? God is referring to the gift of praying or speaking in tongues — “For with stammering lips and another tongue…”  

1 Corinthians 14:3-4,14 says: Whoever speaks in a tongue does not speak to people but to God… Whoever talks [prays] in a tongue edifies [strengthens] themselves… If I pray in a tongue my spirit prays…  

Speaking and praying in tongues is an important spiritual gift but it was through this daily prayer language that I realized just how essential it is for every believer in dealing with temptations and addictions. Praying in the Spirit every day literally dissolve temptations and addictions that might be deeply embedded within you. 

One of our church members was addicted to heavy drugs for several years. This member was one episode away from overdosing. One day, they walked into C3 Church Hong Kong and kept returning every week. After receiving God's Word over a period of months, the hope of God got into their soul. God led this member to open up and share their addiction with me. That was the beginning of God doing an amazing miracle in this person’s life.   

After becoming filled with the Holy Spirit they started praying in tongues daily. Every day they prayed in the Spirit, they felt at rest, at peace. Through praying in tongues regularly and through accountability, God delivered this person from an addiction to hard drugs and a host of other illnesses and temptations.  

This is the rest and the refreshing which God has promised us. So start praying in tongues regularly, and let His rest and peace saturate your entire being!  

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Pray in tongues regularly and let God’s rest and peace saturate your entire being.

在聖靈中安息和甦醒

2.png

以賽亞書 28:11-12 耶和華必要用外邦人的口和言語向這百姓說話,祂曾對他們說:「這是安歇之地,讓疲乏的人安歇吧...」, 「這是安歇之地」⋯⋯

面對壓力,很多人會選擇吸煙、酗酒,甚至通過吸毒來自我釋放。這些不良習慣不單止對身體有害、更是耗費金錢,還會使人上癮。

其實,神已經為我們預備了更好的。神所為我們預備的方法是有力的、不用花費一分一毫,更是無不良的副作用。神將之稱為“安息”和“甦醒”。祂是指是甚麼呢?神所指的就是禱告或方言禱告的恩賜 —“用外邦人的口和言語…”

哥林多前書 14:3-4 ,14提到:「那說方言的,不是對人說,而是對神說...人若說方言(用方言禱告),是造就自己... 我若用方言禱告,就是我的靈在禱告…」

說方言和用方言禱告是很重要的屬靈恩賜, 但我發現每日用方言禱告是每個基督徒抵擋誘惑和不良嗜好時很重要的關鍵。每天靠著聖靈禱告,那些根深柢固的誘惑和不良嗜好會被逐漸消除。

我們教會裡面有一個吸毒多年的教友,服藥過量只離這名教友一步之差。有一天,這位教友走進了香港C3教會,並開始每週來參加聚會。這樣聽了神的道一個月後,神的盼望開始進入這位教友的心。之後,神引領這位教友打開心扉,跟我分享毒癮問題。然後,神便開始在這位教友的人生中創造奇跡。

接著,這位教友被聖靈充滿,開始每天方言禱告。隨著每天都靠著聖靈祈禱,這位教友的心感到平靜和安息。通過每天的方言禱告和跟進,神把這位教友從毒癮疾病和誘惑中拯救出來。

這是神應許我們的安息和甦醒,從每天開始用方言進行禱告,讓神的安息和平安充滿你的身心靈吧!

韋恩牧師


每日一思

每天用方言進行禱告,讓神的安息和平安充滿你的身心靈。