REST IS FOLLOWING JESUS

1.png

John 10:4 And when he brings out his own sheep, he goes before them; and the sheep follow him...  

Have you ever seen a rancher trying to drive cattle from one location to another? He goes behind the cattle, doesn’t he? Compare this to a shepherd who leads his sheep. He goes before them and the sheep simply follow him. 

Jesus is our shepherd and we are His sheep. He does not drive us, but He leads us. Legalistic people drive others. Jesus leads. He goes in front of us.  

In the Old Testament, Jesus led the children of Israel out of bondage in Egypt. Do you know how Jesus appeared back then? He appeared in a pillar of cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night. Where was that pillar? It was in front of them. In fact, the pillar of cloud shaded them from the hot desert sun so that they were kept cool during the day. At night, when the desert got very cold, Jesus, the pillar of fire, gave them light as well as warmth. Whether He was the pillar of cloud or fire, He went in front of them. 

As long as they followed Him, the Israelites did not have to worry about anything. Jesus took care of all their needs. He gave them water when they were thirsty, and bread and meat when they were hungry. Their clothes did not wear out and their feet did not swell. They were kept in good health throughout the 40 years of their wandering in the wilderness. 

And this is the secret to following Jesus – it’s not stressing and striving by wondering am I following? Have I walked off the path? What do I need to do to get back on? No – it’s simply resting in the knowledge that Jesus will lead you and guide you. Right now His Spirit is with you. He is within you and His voice is the quiet still voice that guides you. Every time you feed upon the Word of God, it not only nourishes you, but it leads you and guides you. 

Psalm 119:105 says, Your Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path. Jesus is the lamp and the light that goes before you. 

Just rest in the knowledge that Jesus is your shepherd and follow Him. He will always be leading you to places where He can feed you and nourish you with His Word and His Spirit. As long as you allow Him to lead you, all your needs will be taken care of. He is your provision, healer, counselor, wisdom, righteousness, sanctification. He is everything you need Him to be! 

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

All your needs will be taken care of when you follow Jesus, your shepherd.

安息乃從跟隨耶穌得而來

2.png

約翰福音10:4 既放出自己的羊來,就在前頭走,羊也跟著祂…

你看過農場工人把牛群從一個地點驅趕到另一個地點嗎?他是走在牛群的後面,是吧?但牧羊人卻是引導他的羊群。他在它們前面走,羊群只要跟隨他就好了。

耶穌是我們的牧者,我們是祂的羊。祂不是從後面驅使我們,而是走在前面帶領我們。律法主義者會驅使別人,而耶穌則走在前面帶領我們。

舊約中,耶穌帶領以色列民出埃及。你知道那時耶穌是怎樣顯現的嗎?祂白晝時是在雲柱中,晚上便在火柱中。那些雲柱火柱出現在哪裡?正正是在以色列民的前面。白晝時,雲柱為他們阻擋沙漠中炎熱的陽光;晚上,沙漠變得極其寒冷,耶穌,在火柱中,給予他們光明和溫暖。無論祂作為雲柱還是火柱,祂都走在在以色列民前面。

以色列民只要跟隨祂就不需要擔心任何的事情。耶穌照顧了他們一切所需。口渴的時候賜水給他們,飢餓時又送來嗎哪和肉。他們的衣服沒有穿壞,腳也沒有腫。在穿越曠野的四十年時間裡,身體健康。

這就是跟隨耶穌的秘密 — 不是緊張和反覆尋思我底是不是在跟隨耶穌啊?我是不是走在正路上?我需要如何返在正路上?不,你只需要單單安息在耶穌的應許中 - 衪必將引領和指示你。現在祂的聖靈就住在你裡面,祂無時無刻也與你同在,祂安寧靜謐的聲音正引導著你。當你每一次讀神的話語時,它不僅能滋養你的心靈,也能引領和指示著你。

詩篇119:105寫道,你的話是我腳前的燈,是我路上的光。耶穌就是這燈,這光,行在你的前面。

只要跟隨耶穌,安歇在“祂是我們的牧者”的應許中,祂便會一直引導你去尋得祂的話語和聖靈滋養你的地方。只要你允許祂引導你,祂會看顧你的一切所需。祂是你的供應者,是你的醫治者,是你的謀士,是你的智慧,是你的公義,是你的聖潔。祂是你的一切所望。

韋恩牧師


每日一思

當你跟隨主耶穌,你的牧者,你一切所需祂的都會必看顧。