RESTFUL, NOT RESTLESS

1.png

Isaiah 41:10 Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’  

It is easy to say, "Praise God!" when times are good. It is easy to believe that God loves you and blesses you when you are on the mountaintop. But what happens when you are down in the valley surrounded by your enemies?  

Maybe you are in the valley of marital, financial or health trouble, and you are asking, "Where are you, Lord?"  

The answer is He is right there with you. God is a God of the mountains and the valleys, and He says, "Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand."  

When a multitude of armies and enemies surrounded King Jehoshaphat, the Lord said to the king, "Don't be afraid nor dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God's. You will not need to fight in this battle. Position yourselves, stand still and see the salvation of the Lord, who is with you. Don't fear or be dismayed. Tomorrow, go out against them for the Lord is with you." (2 Chronicles 20:14- 17)  

What King Jehoshaphat did next was exactly what every New Testament Believer needs to learn. Instead of putting his best fighting soldiers in front, he put worshipers in front! And God utterly destroyed their enemies! (2 Chronicles 20:21-23)  

What we all need to learn from King Jehoshaphat is to be "Restful" not "Restless." 

Being restless is stressing and striving to fight all the battles in your strength. It is taking stock of all the resources that you have. Things that might bring you security - like my wealth, my networks, my knowledge, my intellect and then strategizing - waking up early, staying back late. But being restful is being secure in God - it's turning everything over to Him through prayer, worship and thanking Him that He fights our battles for us.   

So whatever valley you are in today, don't be afraid. God is there with you strengthening and upholding you. Just rejoice in His love for you and let Him fight your battles for you! 

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Being restful is being secure in the knowledge that God loves me and fights my battles for me.

要安息,不要憂心

2.png

以賽亞書 41:10 你不要害怕,因為我與你同在;不要驚惶,因為我是你的神。我必堅固你,我必幫助你;我必用我公義的右手扶持你。

當事事稱心順利時,高呼一聲“感謝主!”非常容易;在人生的巔峰之處明白主的愛和祝福,並不困難。但當走進人生低潮,事事受阻,四面受敵時,你會否仍相信神是愛你並且賜福給你?

也許你的婚姻、財務或健康正走在低谷裡面,你或許會問主:「主啊,祢在哪兒?」

無論你在高山或低谷,你要知道神是永遠與你同在。神說:「你不要害怕,因為我與你同在;不要驚惶,因為我是你的神。我必堅固你,我必幫助你;我必用我公義的右手扶持你。」

當約沙法王被無數軍隊及敵人包圍,神對他說:「不要因這大軍恐懼驚惶;因為勝敗不在乎你們,乃在乎神。你們不要爭戰,要擺陣站著,看耶和華為你們施行拯救。不要恐懼,也不要驚惶。明日當出去迎敵,因為耶和華與你們同在。」(歷代志下20:14-17)。

身處新約時代的所有基督徒,應該效法約沙法王。沙法王沒有把最好的戰士放在最前線,反將敬拜隊放在最前線!最後神幫助他們打倒敵人!(歷代志下20:21-23)。

我們要學習約沙法王,在主內安息,不是憂心。

憑借自己的力量去爭戰,往往會感到驚慌失措,因為所有指望都放在你所擁有的事物上?,例如看似帶給你安全感的財富、人脈和知識,然計劃策略- 一大清早起來工作,但夜闌人靜時才回家。「安息」是在神裡面找到安定,將一切需要交給神,透過禱告、敬拜和感恩去榮耀神為我們所爭的戰。

無論你身處哪一種境況,不要害怕,因為神必與你同在,祂會幫助你和捍衛你。在神的愛中靠主喜樂,讓主為你爭戰。

韋恩牧師


每日一思

安息是在神的愛中得安定,明白主會為我爭戰。