SEEK FIRST GOD'S KINGDOM

1.png

Matthew 6:31–33 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.  

As a child of God, know that it is your Heavenly Father's pleasure to provide for all your needs. Jesus Himself tells us, "For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things." But God does not want you to seek after things. He wants you to seek first His kingdom. And when you do that, all the things that you need will be added to you! 

Jesus is talking about the provision of God in these verses. But He is also saying something else. He is linking the provision of God in your life to how much you prioritize God in your life. 

Jesus says, "Seek first the kingdom of God… all these things shall be added (provided) to you". 

So your first priority every day is to seek His Kingdom. The word "first" in verse 33 is the Greek word proton, which means "first in order or importance, holding the highest place in all our affections." This means your seeking is coming from your heart – it’s real, it's not something that is being faked.  

We are not to seek after things the way Gentiles do. The word "seek" (verse 32) is the Greek word epizeteo. It means "to seek with all their might with much sweat or with much stress." However, the way God wants us to "seek" (verse 31) is the Greek word zeteo, which means "to hunger, to desire to worship." It is simply a hungering, a desiring for the kingdom of God, without any labor or toil. 

Can you see what Jesus is revealing to you?   

He is saying the provision of God is not something that you compete for, strive for, wake up early and stay up late for - it comes by worshipping, knowing and resting in God's love for you.   

As you simply carry a consciousness that God loves you and you put Him first always in your life - where God is your first thought, not an after-thought, you will always see God's provision showing up in your life! 

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

When you prioritize Jesus and rest in His love towards you, everything you need will be added to you in your life!

先求神的國

2.png

馬太福音 6:31-33 「所以,不要憂慮說:吃什麼?喝什麼?穿什麼?這都是外邦人所求的,你們需用的這一切東西,你們的天父是知道的。你們要先求他的國和他的義,這些東西都要加給你們了。」

作為神的兒女,你們必須知道天父是相當樂意供應你的需要,因為耶穌亦曾說:「你們的天父知道你們的需要」。 但祂希望你先求祂的國,當你順服祂的心意去祂求的國時 ,你所需要的祂都必加給你。

耶穌在這幾節經文中不但提到神的供應,更指出神的供應和你把神放在生命中中的次序是息息相關的。

耶穌說:「先求神的國和神的義..... 這些東西都要加(供應) 給你們了。」

你每天首要之事是尋求神的國。馬太福音6:33 中的「求」,在希臘文(proton)的意思是「在我們心中所鐘愛的人和事中, 居首位的、佔著最具重要性的位置」。由此可見你的「求」反映出你內心裡最真實的想法,是什麼樣的東西佔有你的心。

然而,馬太福音6:32中 的「求」,希臘文(epizeteo)的意思是「營營役役,用血汗和勞力去尋求」。神提醒我們不要像外邦人一樣追求身外之物。神是要我們以馬太福音6:31中的「求」(zeteo)去尋求,就是要「去渴慕祂,親近祂,去敬拜祂」,不靠著自己的力量,只單單地渴慕神的國 。

到這裡,你看見了耶穌的啟示嗎?

耶穌想讓我們明白神的供應,不需要透過日以繼夜地的勞碌去爭取得到,而是單單透過敬拜主、認識主和安息在神的愛裡便可尋獲。

你只要明白神是何等的愛你,並將祂放在生命的第一位 - 在任何的事情上,神是你第一時間想到的考量 ,而不是事後才想到的對象,你便會看見神的供應在你的生命中一一顯現!

韋恩牧師


每日一思

當你把耶穌基督放在生命的第一位,安息在神的愛裡面,你的所需所求祂都會加給你。