RESTING IN THE FULLNESS OF GOD

1.png

Ephesians 3:19 To know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

We would all like to experience more health, abundance, and success in our lives. God, being God is all of these things and to be full of God is to be full of health, abundance, and success.

But how do we become full of God?

As a new Christian, desiring to grow in God, I equated being “filled with all the fullness of God” was linked to how much effort and time I committed to praying in the Spirit, fasting, and reading the Word. Coming from a sporting background, if I wanted to excel, I knew had to put in more work and more effort. I lived out of that old adage – “no pain, no gain”. But this is not the pattern of being filled with the fullness of God. Now I do not want to belittle fasting, praying or speaking in tongues – I wake up early every day to pray in my heavenly language and feed upon God’s Word, but to be filled with all the fullness of God is not about what you do. It is about resting in the knowledge of how much Christ loves you through what He did for you!

Let me explain this.

I know people who have memorized the Word of God and can quote it from every chapter. But this does not mean someone is growing in the fullness of God. The “knowing” I am talking about is a revelation knowledge – it’s the knowledge of God’s love for you that comes from God’s Spirit to yours.

In Ephesians 1:17-18 and Ephesians 3:18-19 Paul prays for both of these for you:

…may[God] give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.  I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know… (Ephesians 1:17-18)

…to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. (Ephesians 3:18-19)

You cannot become full of God through what you do, it can only come through the work of God’s Spirit in and through you.

When you are conscious of how much God loves you and you become filled with the fullness of God, what follows is the next verse — God doing exceedingly abundantly above all that you can ask or think, according to the power that works in you (Ephesians 3:20). You will experience the tremendous blessings of God exploding in your life! You will become a blessing magnet!

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Being filled with the fullness of God is not about what you do, but resting in the knowledge of how much God loves you.

在神的豐盛中得安息

2.png

以弗所書 3:19 並且知道他的愛是超過人所能理解的,使你們被充滿,得著神的一切豐盛。

我們都希望能夠身體健康,凡事富足,功成名就。而神,作為偉大的神,擁有這一切。被神的一切豐盛所充滿,就是我們在生命中得到完全的健康、豐足和成功。

但是,我們如何能得到神的豐盛呢?

對於初信的基督徒而言,渴望在神中成長,等同於「得著神的一切豐盛」,在我看來這與他們花了多少精力及時間用方言禱告、禁食與讀聖經是息息相關的。

從小到大,我都熱愛運動,如果我想成為出類拔萃的運動員,我知道自己就必須投放更多的的努力去練習。有句諺語說, 「一分耕耘,一分收穫」,我曾經就是這樣生活的。但這種方式並不會幫助你被神的豐盛充滿。現在的我不會輕視禁食,祈禱或說方言的力量 - 我自己每天早起用方言禱告,閱讀神的話語,但要充滿神的豐盛,這與你做了多少東西無關,而是可以內心安然,通過認識基督為你做的一切,知道祂有多麼愛你!

讓我來解釋一下吧。

我認識能把聖經倒背如流的人,他們可以熟練地從不同的章節中引用經文。但這並不意味著這些人就是在神的豐盛裡成長的。 我想強調的「認識」,是一種啟示性的知識 - 是通過神賜給你的靈,知道神對你的愛。

在以弗所書1:17-18和以弗所書3:18-19中, 保羅就以下兩件事為你們禱告:

⋯⋯求我們主耶穌基督的 神,榮耀的父,賜給你們智慧和啟示的靈,使你們充分地認識他, 並且使你們心靈的眼睛明亮,可以知道他的呼召有怎樣的盼望;他基業的榮耀,在聖徒中是多麼的豐盛⋯⋯(以弗所書 1:17-18)

⋯⋯就能和眾聖徒一同領悟基督的愛是多麼的長闊高深, 19 並且知道他的愛是超過人所能理解的,使你們被充滿,得著 神的一切豐盛。(以弗所書 3:18-19)


要被神的豐盛充滿,你不是要靠自己的努力和好行為,而是讓聖靈在你生命中動工,你就會看到神的豐盛在你通過你流露出來。

而當你意識到神有愛多你,那就是你被神的豐盛充滿的時候。這段經文的下一節就充分說明了接下來會發生什麼 - 神能照著運行在我們心裡的大力充充足足的成就一切,超過我們所求所想的。(以弗所書 3:20) 你會經歷到從神而來的巨大祝福!你會把祝福都吸引到你的身上來!

韋恩牧師


每日一思

要被神的豐盛充滿,你不是要靠自己的努力和好行為,而是要知道神有多愛你。