THE BATTLE IS THE LORD'S

1.png

2 Chronicles 20:15 …Do not be afraid nor dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God’s.  

When faced with a problem or challenge, we tend to ask ourselves, “What am I going to do?” And well-meaning family members and friends will come along and also ask, “What are you going to do?”  

However, this is not the response that God wants from you – His response is “Will you let Me do it for you?” This is wonderfully illustrated by King Jehoshaphat when he was surrounded by several enemy forces advancing to attack and annihilate Israel. 

King Jehoshaphat faced a multitude of enemies. But instead of focusing on what he would do, he prayed, “O God, will You not judge them? For we have no power against this great multitude that is coming against us; nor do we know what to do, but our eyes are upon You” (2 Chronicles 20:12).  

When we turn our eyes to God, we will hear Him say, “Do not be afraid nor dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God’s... You will not need to fight in this battle. Position yourselves, stand still and see the salvation of the Lord…” (2 Chronicles 20:15, 17)  

But standing still is the last thing we want to do when the enemy is coming against us. It is also the most difficult thing to do because we feel that we cannot just stand around and do nothing — we must try to save the situation. But God wants us to stand still and see Jesus, our salvation, fight for us.  

So what do you do the next time you are faced with a battle and don’t know what to do?  

King Jehoshaphat sent his singers to the front of the army to proclaim, “Praise the Lord, for His mercy endures forever” (2 Chronicles 20:21). Some people will wonder, “Does that mean that I just sing and don’t do anything else when I have a problem?” No, that is not what I am saying. Do what the situation requires, but don’t worry nor trust in what you can do. Like Jehoshaphat, rest and trust in God's mercy that endures forever.  

When you do that, God will turn your battlefield into the Valley of Berachah. Berachah means “blessings”. The children of Israel gave the battlefield this name because it took them three days to gather all the spoils of war! God turned their terrible situation into a great blessing! (2 Chronicles 20:25–26)  

Do you have a battle to fight? Stand still and see the salvation of the Lord!  

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

God wants us to rest, stand still in our hearts and see Jesus, our salvation, fight for us.

爭戰屬乎耶和華

2.png

歷代志下20:15 ... 你們不要因這大軍懼怕和驚慌,因為戰爭的勝負不是在於你們,而是在於神。

當我們遇到問題或者挑戰時,我們通常第一時間問自己「我要怎麼辦?」然後擔 你的家人和朋友也會一起來問你「你要怎麼辦?」
 
但這不是神想你這樣面對事情, 他反而想問「你是否讓我幫助你,讓我替你爭戰?」。約沙法王在受眾軍隊攻擊以色列人的時候,他的行動很好地詮釋他的應對之策。

約沙法王在面對強大的軍隊時,並沒有選擇自行想辦法去應對,反之他向神禱告:「我們的神啊,你不懲罰他們嗎?因為我們無力抵擋這來攻擊我們的大軍,我們也不知道怎樣行,我們的眼目單仰望你。」(歷代志下20:12)
 
當我們將目光移向神身上,我們就能聽到他說,「你們不要因這大軍懼怕和驚慌,因為戰爭的勝負不是在於你們,而是在於神... 這次你們不必出戰,只要穩守陣地,站立不動,看耶和華為你們施行的拯救。」(歷代志下20:15,17)

但「站立不動」,往往是大軍壓境時,我們最不願意做。最困難的是什麼都不做,猶如坐以待斃。我們感覺自己必須要去挽救大局。但神依然想我們將自己交給他,並看清耶穌,我們的救恩,如何去為我們爭戰,顯明他的救恩。

所以下次當你遇到爭戰時,迷茫時,你清楚要怎麼做了嗎? 

約沙法王派出了敬拜歌手,站在軍隊前宣告「當稱謝耶和華,因他的慈愛永遠常存。」(歷代志下20:21)有人可能會想,「那我是不是在面對問題時,甚麼都不用做,只需要唱歌就好了?」我不是這個意思。當面對問題時,做你該做的,但放下恐懼擔憂,不要為眼前所困。像約沙法一樣,安息和相信神的恩典將傳到千秋萬代。
 
當你這樣做,神就會將比拉迦谷的爭戰扭轉乾坤。比拉迦就是「祝福」的意思。以色列人的子民命名這個地方,就是僅僅三天,這場戰役就結束了!神將他們的困境轉危為喜,送給他們大大的祝福!(歷代志下20:25-26)

你是不是也有爭戰?站穩,親眼看見耶和華你的拯救為你爭戰吧!

韋恩牧師


今日所思

神要我們安息,心中安穩,並親眼看見耶穌你的拯救為你爭戰!