STRENGTH OF MIND

1.png

2 Timothy 1:7 For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

The mind is a very important component of the human makeup (which is body, soul, and spirit), perhaps just as important as your heart. Proverbs 4:23 tells us that “all the issues of life flow out of the heart”, so why would the mind be more important?

It’s because whatever fills the mind is what fills the heart.

Paul tells us in 2 Timothy that we have received a “sound mind” from the Lord. Now look at the context: Paul is saying that he has a pure conscience. (2 Timothy 1:3) That's an incredible statement when you consider Paul’s background – he was a terrorist and vehement persecutor of Christians, ordering so many to be executed. So how can Paul have a pure conscience?

The answer to this question is also the key to a sound mind.

Paul understood what Christ had done for him. 2 Timothy 1:2 reveals the gospel is about grace, mercy, and peace. And when you understand that you have received the grace of God through His mercies, His peace will guard and protect your mind and heart (Philippians 4:6-7).

Many of God’s promises are past tense. Ephesians says, “I have blessed you…” Colossians says “I am worthy…” Psalms say “I have surrounded you with favor as a shield…” All of these are past tense and our role is to bring our thinking into an agreement with God. But because we might not feel blessed, or feel surrounded with God’s favor, we have a tendency to think and speak about what we feel rather than what God says.

When God placed Ezekiel in the valley of dry bones (Ezekiel 37), He told him to prophesy over those bones commanding “life” to come into them. Ezekiel was surrounded by dry bones. But rather than speak about lack and the deadness of the circumstances that surrounded him, he agreed with God and spoke what God said.

Likewise, we need to learn to agree with God and declare not what we see or feel, but what God’s Word commands and says.

This is the posture of a sound mind. It is a mindset that agrees with God. It is a mindset that doesn’t go to fear, but goes to faith saying:

  • If God’s Word says I am blessed, then I am, regardless of my surroundings.
  • If God’s Word says I am worthy, then I am, regardless of my surroundings.
  • If God’s Word says I am surrounded by His favor, then I am.

Today rise up with a sound mind and agree with God’s Word.

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

A sound mind is a mind that agrees with and declares the truth of God’s Word over your life.

心靈的力量

2.png

提摩太後書 1:7 因為神所賜給我們的,不是膽怯的靈,而是有能力的靈、仁愛的靈和健全的心靈。(英文版本譯)

頭腦是人體構造一個非常重要的部分(體,魂,靈),也許和你的心臟一樣重要。箴言4:23告訴我們「因為一生的果效是由心發出。」那為什麼頭腦會更重要呢?

因為任何充滿頭腦的東西也都充滿心靈。

保羅在提摩太後書告訴我們,我們從主那裡得到了「健全的心靈」。當時保羅說他有「潔淨的良心」。(提摩太後書1:3) 但當你了解到保羅的背景時,你會意識到這是令人難以置信的事情 —— 他曾經激烈地迫害基督徒,並下令將許多人處死。那麼保羅怎麼會有良心呢?

這個問題的答案,同樣也是健全的心靈的關鍵。

保羅明白基督為他所做的事。提摩太後書1:2揭示了福音是關於恩典、憐憫和平安。當你明白你是通過神的憐憫得到恩典時,祂的平安就會保守你的心懷意念。(腓立比書4:6-7)

神的應許大多是過去式。以弗所書說:「我已祝福你......」。歌羅西書說:「我配得......」。詩篇說:「我必用恩惠如同盾牌四面護衛你......」。這些都是過去的事情,而我們要做的,是要與神的思想一致。但我們未必能感受到神的祝福,也未必能感受到被神的恩惠所包圍,所以我們會傾向於相信和談論我們的感受,而不是神的話語。

當神將以西結放在枯死的骨頭堆中(以西結書37),祂讓他向那些骸骨發預言,命令「生命」進入它們。當時以西結被枯死的骨頭所包圍,但他沒有專注於眼前的缺乏的和圍繞著他「死亡」的環境,而是認同神並說出神的話語。

同樣地,我們需要學會認同神,並且宣告神的話語和命令,而不是陳述我們所看到的或感受到的。

這就是「健全的心靈」的姿態。

這是一種同意神的心態。這是以走向信心而不是走向害怕的心態去宣告;

  • 如果神說我是被祝福的,那無論我身處何地,我都是被祝福的。
  • 如果神說我是配得的,那無論我身處何地,我都是配得的。
  • 如果神說祂的恩惠包圍著我,那無論我身處何地,我都被神的恩惠包圍。

今天,以健全的心靈照著神的話語行吧。

韋恩牧師


每日一思

健全的心靈會認同神所說的,並會宣告神的真理。