VICTORY IN THE VALLEY TOO

1.png

1 Kings 20:23 Then the servants of the king of Syria said to him, “Their gods are gods of the hills. Therefore they were stronger than we, but if we fight against them in the plain, surely we will be stronger than they."

What is happening here is the Syrian army was just defeated by the armies of Israel. So the Syrian advisors explained to the king the reason for their defeat – they thought it was because they fought Israel in the mountains. And because Israel’s God is a God of the mountains, that was why the Syrian army lost.

The truth is, the God of Israel was a God of the mountains because often that’s where God met with Moses, but what silly advice the Syrians gave to their king.

However, we often use mountains in reference to “good times” and valleys to “tough times” and thus we can also carry this same mindset that the Syrian advisors carried.

Let me explain how:

When things are going well in life, we credit it to God, but then we think He has deserted us when we go through tough times. We start thinking to ourselves “what am I doing wrong?”, “what is causing all this trouble in my life?”

But the truth is the Lord your God is with you up on the mountains and down in the valleys.

This is important theology.

It’s important not to see the gospel as a gospel of just “good works”. The gospel (good news) is about grace, mercy, and peace (wealth, health and good works are just by-products of the good news). At the very core of the gospel is Christ and the cross. Jesus purchased your salvation upon that cross which means:

  • Deliverance from sin, sickness and death and provision of health, wholeness, preservation, prosperity and everlasting life!

But to receive all this deliverance and provision, you don’t focus on the by-product (the wealth, the health, the good works), you need to focus on the Deliverer and Provider - Christ. To receive your healing you don't focus on healing, you focus on the Healer – Christ.

Too many Christians focus on the by-product of the good news and they end up becoming distracted away from the gospel and towards the by-product. This only produces dead works and a deadness in your life.

But when you focus on the good news which is Christ and what He did for you on the cross, that’s when you are focusing on the Source of life, wealth, health and good works. That’s when His life begins to flow.

Don’t become deceived like the Syrians, whose beliefs were based on what did or didn’t happen, or what they did or didn’t have. Be a solid, well-grounded, stable, secure, strong believer in the gospel of grace which is Christ. And that’s when you will walk with Him over every mountain and through every valley.

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Focus on the good news of Christ, not the by-products of the good news.

在低谷裡也得勝

2.png

列王紀上20:23 亞蘭王的臣僕對亞蘭王說:「以色列人的神是山神,所以他們勝過我們;但在平原與他們打仗,我們必定得勝。」

經文描述的是亞蘭軍隊被以色列軍隊打敗後發生的事情。亞蘭的謀士向亞蘭王解釋失敗的原因 —— 因為他們以為以色列的神是山神,而他們在山裡對戰以色列,因此戰敗。

真相是,以色列的神被稱為山神是因為這是神經常與摩西見面的地方,但亞蘭謀士卻給了他們的王一個愚蠢的建言。

但是,我們現在還是會用高山來比喻「順境」,低谷來比喻「逆境」,換言之我們也會有和亞蘭謀士一樣的想法。

讓我解釋一下:

當生活諸事順利,我們把功勞歸給主,但當諸事不順時我們就覺得祂離棄我們。我們會開始想:「我是不是做錯了什麼?」,「到底是什麼原因讓這一切發生?」

但其實我們的主我們的神一直都跟我們一起,走過高山和低谷。

這是很重要的神學觀念。

更重要的是,我們不能只看福音為「事事順利」的福音。福音(好消息)是恩典,憐憫和平安(財富、健康和順境只是福音的副產品)。福音的核心是基督和十架。而耶穌在十字架上贖回我們,那意味著:

  • 在罪、疾病和死亡裡得釋放和供應我們健康,使我們的以完全,保守我們得豐盛和永生!

但要得釋放和供應,你不能專注於「副產品」(財富、健康或順境),你需要專注在那釋放我們和供應我們的耶穌基督身上。要得醫治,你不能專注在你想要的醫治上,而是醫治我們的耶穌基督。

很多基督徒專注於福音的「副產品」上,導致他們因這些「副產品」分心,把福音拋諸腦後。你得到的只會是「沒有生命的工」和生命變得「死氣沉沉」。

但當你專注在福音也就是基督上,還有祂為你在十架上做的事,就等同於你專注在生命、財富、健康和順境的泉源上,祂的生命便開始在你身上流動。

因此,不要像亞蘭人一樣被欺騙,只相信發生了或還未發生的事情,抑或只相信擁有或沒有的東西。你要成為一個堅定、基礎扎實、平穩、安定和堅壯的信徒,相信恩典的福音,也就是相信基督。

這將會是你跟祂一起走過所有高山和低谷的開始。

韋恩牧師


每日一思

專注在基督的福音上,而非福音的「副產品」。