Hebrews 5:12 For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you again the first principles of the oracles of God; and you have come to need milk and not solid food.

Possibly one of the most widespread and persistent obstacles to be found among Christians is the dilemma of stunted spiritual progress. Why, after years of being a Christian, do so many people find themselves no further along the path than when they first believed?

The causes of stunted Christian growth are many. To oversimplify and narrow it down to any one single fault would not be accurate but there is one, however, that is so universal that it could easily be the main cause – failure to cultivate a knowledge of God. 

The writer of Hebrews above is stating that there are many Christians who should have now progressed to a place where they are teaching the solid ‘meat’ of God’s Word, yet they are still in need of ‘milk’ themselves. In other words – they are still spiritual babies. 

Why is this important? It’s because your knowledge of the Word of Christ is what produces faith (Romans10:17), which is essential for everything (Hebrews 11:6).

A Christian is strong or weak in faith, depending on how attentive they have been to cultivate a knowledge of God, and more specifically, revelation knowledge of who they are in Christ. Progress in the Christian life is equal to the personal revelation we gain about God through His Scriptures.

I once read a story about a farmer whose spiritual life had suddenly blossomed until there was an overflowing of God’s presence in his life. Many in the small farming community recognized the change in his life and personally sought spiritual counsel from him. When asked what was the cause of this spiritual revival he replied:

“I began to devote myself to the Scriptures for my own need. Something happened when God opened my spiritual understanding as I studied the book of Ephesians. I cannot really explain what the Lord is doing for me and through me, but it has come through persistent meditation and feeding upon the Word of God.”

Commentaries and Christian books are a great resource and I use them. But there is no replacement that comes close to reading the actual Scriptures to feed your spirit and meet your needs. 

It’s not about trying to fulfill a devotional plan, or to read the Bible in a set time – often this causes the reader to lose why they are reading the Bible – it’s about reading the Scriptures for your own personal gain. That’s when the Word comes alive and fills your life! 

Pastor Wayne Simpson


Read the Bible to first feed upon the Word of God and then faith, knowledge, and understanding will come.

餵養你的靈

8.png

希伯來書5:12  看你們學習的工夫,本該作師傅,誰知還得有人將神聖言小學的開端另教導你們,並且成了那必須吃奶、不能吃乾糧的人。

今天的基督徒當中,“靈命發育不良”是一個普遍問題。為什麼有些人做了那麼多年的基督徒,比起初信主時還是沒有什麼長進呢?

原因有很多,不宜一概而論,但最普遍的,是沒有好好培養對神的認識。

希伯來書的作者在開篇的經文中說,有很多基督徒,本應可以把神的話語如餵“乾糧”般教給他人,但原來自己還需要乳養,還是屬靈上的嬰兒。

為什麼吃神話語的“乾糧”如此重要?因為認識基督的道(話語),才會有信心(羅馬書10:17);人有信心,才能得神的喜悅,活出豐盛的一生(希伯來書11:6)。

基督徒信心的大小,取決於他們有多主動去認識神,對自己在基督裡身份的認識有多少啟示。一個人從《聖經》中得到神親自的啟發越多,屬靈生命便越成熟。

我讀過一個故事,說的是一個農夫深刻地經歷了神的同在,隨後靈命突飛猛進。小村莊裡的人看到了他性格和生命的轉變,紛紛向他尋求屬靈輔導。有人問他靈命成長的原因,他這樣回答:

“我決定出於自己的需要而讀《聖經》。在研讀以弗所書時,神開了我屬靈的竅。我不知道主在我身上做了什麼,只知道我不斷默想,如饑似渴地吸收神的話語,變化便發生了。”

《聖經》注釋以及基督書籍都是很好的參考,我也經常閱讀。但閱讀《聖經》本身,用神的話語餵養自己的靈、滿足自己的需要,是無可替代的。

只有為了自己的需要而讀《聖經》,而非為讀而讀,才能在你的人生中激活《聖經》的真理。

不必強迫自己完成某個讀經計劃,或規定自己在多長時間內把《聖經》讀完幾次。這往往只會讓人錯失了讀經的真正意義。讀《聖經》,是為了滿足自己、造就自己。帶著這種心態閱讀,神的話語才能躍然紙上,與你的靈活潑相遇,豐富你的人生!

韋恩牧師


今日所思

閱讀《聖經》,用神的話語餵養你的靈,你自會認識、了解、相信神。