FAITH AND COURAGE

7 (1).png

Joshua 1:6 Be strong and of good courage…

God is encouraging Joshua to stand up and lead. He has been a faithful assistant to Moses during the exit from Egypt and through the long ordeal in the wilderness, despite seeing no evidence of entry into the Promised Land. He represents a great example for all who are standing in faith in times of famine. But Moses is now dead and God calls Joshua into the seat of leadership.

In Joshua 1, God tells Joshua three times to be strong and of good courage. There were obviously some insecurities inside Joshua – filling the shoes of Moses was no easy task! But he needed a strong sense of security and courage for three key areas in his life:

1. To receive His inheritance

Joshua 1:6 “Be strong and of good courage, for to these people you shall divide as an inheritance the land which I swore to their fathers to give them.” 

We all have an inheritance from God (Ephesians 1:18). And we walk in that inheritance by faith. As Israel entered the Promised Land the cities they were inheriting were large, protected by big walls and not to mention those giants were still there. But God said He would fight the battles for Israel and likewise, all you need is a little mustard seed of faith in God to see mountains being moved on your behalf by God.  

2. To fully obey God

Joshua 1:6-7 “Only be strong and very courageous, that you may observe to do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you…” 

It takes courage to honor God and to walk in His Ways. The world will laugh at you, mock you and even disown you (2 Timothy 3:12). This is why you need courage to step out from the crowd and walk a different way. It’s about giving yourself fully over to the Lord and serving Him with courage and conviction.

3. To overcome fear

Joshua 1:9 “Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go…”

Finally, you need courage to overcome fears and discouragement in your life. Not everything will go your way. There will be times of famine and the horizon can look frightening. But this is where we need to rise up with courage and a confidence in God that He will deliver us through every valley and every enemy we face.

Look at the by-product of courageous faith:

Joshua 1:8-9 “For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.”

It says “good success.” 

The world’s success is often a success that will bring with it destruction like lost time with family, marriage failure and loneliness. But God’s success is a good success – your family is good, your marriage is good and you are surrounded by good people who love you!

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Strong faith leads to good success.

信心與勇氣

8 (1).png

約書亞記 1:6 你當剛強壯膽…

神鼓勵約書亞站出來成為領袖。在以色列人出埃及期間,約書亞一直是摩西的忠心助手,熬過了在荒野中看不到應許之地的長期考驗,在飢荒期間也不失信心,是很好的榜樣。後來摩西去世了,神便召喚約書亞成為領袖。

在約書亞記第一章,神向約書亞重複了三次,要他剛強壯膽。很明顯,約書亞內心有些不安,畢竟摩西的班可不是容易接的!他在三個方面尤其需要神的鼓勵和勇氣:

1.  接受基業

約書亞記1:6 “你當剛強壯膽,因為你必使這百姓承受那地為業,就是我向他們列祖起誓應許賜給他們的地”。

我們每個人都要從神得基業(以弗所書1:18),並且要憑信心領受。以色列人所要進入的應許之地,是有城牆包圍的廣闊土地,還有巨人駐守。但神說,他會為以色列人出戰。攔阻我們的挑戰或許艱鉅,但我們只需要芥菜籽大的信心,就能見證神為我們擊退巨人,移動高山。

2.   完全順服神

約書亞記 1:6-7 “只要剛強,大大壯膽,謹守遵行我僕人摩西所吩咐你的一切律法…”

尊崇神並走他的路,是需要勇氣的。這個世界會嘲笑你,甚至排擠、逼迫你(提摩太後書 3:12)。因此,你需要勇氣踏上一條與眾不同的道路。不是說你要一絲不苟地遵行各種教條和靈修守則,而是要把自己全身心都獻給主,用勇氣與信念為神而活。

3.  克服恐懼

約書亞記 1:9 你當剛強壯膽;不要懼怕,也不要驚惶;因為你無論往哪裡去,耶和華 — 你的神必與你同在。

最後,你需要勇氣去克服生命中的恐懼與失意。人生不可能永遠按著你的願望進行。你會經歷飢荒貧乏,前路也許會令你卻步。但正正是這些時候,我們需要振作起來,帶著勇氣和對神的信心去面對,相信他會帶我們跨過低谷,戰勝一切敵人。

充滿勇氣的信心能改變生命:

約書亞記 1:8-9 “如此,你的道路就可以亨通,凡事順利”。

這裡說“凡事順利”。

世俗標準的成功總伴隨著犧牲:家庭生活的缺失、婚姻的破裂、孤獨的煎熬。但從神而來的祝福,卻要讓你凡事順利 —你的家庭幸福,婚姻美好,常有愛你的人相伴!

韋恩牧師


今日所思

堅定的信心讓你凡事順利。