FAITH COMES BY HEARING

7 (1).png

Hebrews 1:1-2 God, who at various times and in various ways spoke in time past to the fathers by the prophets, has in these last days spoken to us by His Son.

I once read a story about a man who visited his doctor to have his hearing checked. The doctor removed the man’s hearing aid, and his hearing immediately improved! He had been wearing the device in the wrong ear for over 20 years! Incredible!

There is a difference between listening to God and ‘really hearing.’ Every Sunday you might attend church and listen to a sermon but are you hearing God speak to you personally?

The Bible says, “faith comes by hearing…” (Romans 10:17)

Jesus often said “He who has ears to hear, let him hear.’" This statement suggests that it takes more than just physical ears to hear the voice of God. 

How do we hear God? Hebrews 3:7-8 says, “Today if you will hear His voice, harden not your hearts.” 

The key to hearing God is an open mind and a receptive heart. It is more than just being sensitive to God’s voice, it’s possessing a willingness to act upon what God says. For example: If God is speaking to you about getting involved more through giving, serving or, leading but you never do, you will eventually close yourself off completely to God. And one day when you really do need God to respond in your life, you will not see His power because you have closed yourself off to Him.

Here are some keys to developing an open mind and a receptive heart:

1. HumilityJames 4:6 God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble. Pride is the one attitude that will totally block you from receiving anything from God. Humility is a gateway that opens up God’s heavenly grace to you!

2. Thankful1 Thessalonians 5:18 Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. Thankfulness is God’s will for your life! This means for you to hear the will and purpose of God for your life, thankfulness for what you have and where you are at, are important. Don’t grumble and complain because of things that have not yet materialised in your life. The only thing this does is block future blessings of God.

3. GenerousProverbs 11:25 The generous soul will be made rich, and he who waters will be watered himself. Generosity is not only the key to personal blessing, it is the key to being continually refreshed, watered and nourished in life. Your heart is a well that continually waters your life (Proverbs 4:23). And the attitude of generosity prevents your heart from becoming hardened and dry towards the things of God.

4. WillingIsaiah 1:19 If you are willing and obedient, you will eat the good things of the land. The willing-hearted person will always find a way, find the time, and find the resources to get the job done. The willing have energy and they also have conviction. But if you lack the willingness to change in an area of your life, you will blunt your ability to hear God.

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

The key to hearing God is possessing a willingness to act upon what He says.

信心從聽道來

8 (1).png

希伯來書 1:1-2 神既在古時藉著眾先知多次多方地曉諭列祖,就在這末世藉著他兒子曉諭我們。

我曾經聽過一個故事。一個人去檢查聽力,結果,醫生一將他的助聽器拿掉,聽力就改善了!原來,這二十多年來他的助聽器都沒有戴對!真諷刺!

聽神說話和真正聽見神的聲音,有很大區別。你每週日去教會參加聚會,聽牧師講道,但你聽到神親自對你說話嗎?

《聖經》說,“信心是從聽道來的…(羅馬書10:17)”

耶穌常說,“有耳可聽,就應當聽。” 意思是,要聽見神的聲音,光靠耳朵還不行。

那要怎麼做呢?希伯來書3:7-8說,“你們今日若聽他的話,就不可硬著心。”

聽神說話的關鍵,是要有開放的思想和接納的心。你不僅要對神的聲音敏感,更要甘心樂意地遵行。舉例說,如果神讓你更多地奉獻、承擔教會工作、帶領小組…你卻置若罔聞。那麼,你將慢慢把門向神關上。當有一天你真正需要神回應你的禱告時,你便無法見證神的作為,因為你已親手關手大門阻擋神進入你的生命。

保持開放的思想和接納的心態,有以下幾個要點:

1. 謙卑 — 雅各書4:6 神阻擋驕傲的人,賜恩給謙卑的人。一個驕傲的人無法獲得從神而來的任何饋贈,一顆謙卑的心卻會為你打開天國恩典的大門!

2. 感恩 — 帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:18 凡事謝恩,因為這是神在基督耶穌裡向你們所定的旨意。感恩,是神對你一生的旨意!無論你擁有什麼,身處何方,都要心存感恩。千萬不要為尚未擁有的祝福心懷不平,埋怨神,這只會阻攔你獲得今後的祝福。

3. 慷慨 — 箴言11:25 好施捨的,必得豐裕;滋潤人的,必得滋潤。慷慨不僅是蒙福的關鍵,更會使你的生命不斷地得到更新、灌溉和滋養。人的心好比人生的水井。一個樂善好施的人,他的心就是一口活水井,合神心意的事會在其中不斷湧流,灌溉他的生命。(箴言4:23)慷慨的心會幫助你保持一顆柔軟的心,對神的事情心生渴慕。

4.樂 — 以賽亞書1:19 你們若甘心聽從,必吃地上的美物。一個人若有樂意的心,總會想到辦法,騰出時間,找到資源,去做主派給他的工作。他們往往有心,有力,有承擔。然而,若神對你說了話,你仍無動於衷,不願改變,你便會漸漸聽不見神的聲音。

韋恩牧師


今日所思

聽神說話,關鍵在甘心樂意地去遵行。