PRAY – WAITING ON GOD

DD Banner (1).png

Habakkuk 2:20 But the Lord is His holy temple. Let all the earth keep silence before Him.

Habakkuk is a great book of the Bible when it comes to vision. Chapter 2, verse 3 talks about waiting for the revelation of the Lord. It “awaits an appointed time”. It says: “though it lingers, wait for it, it will surely come”.

That revelation is the Word or the Vision of the Lord.

Our temptation is to run ahead or rush into our own thing that we have thought of, but this will only be our downfall. It can be a struggle to just wait and do nothing. We don’t even like to wait a few minutes for the traffic lights to change or for the train to arrive! But to wait and receive the Lord’s revelation, the Lord’s way, in the Lord’s timing, is more important than anything and everything man can do.

Whenever you are waiting for the Lord’s revelation – “prayer” is your answer.

So much of your prayer life involves: “Waiting”. Just waiting on the Lord, praying, giving Him the honor of your time, at the breaking of a new day. That alone is going to command the Lord’s attention upon your life. Billions of people wake up every day and rush off to do their things. Even many who claim to know God seldom prioritize their time to Him. So when someone does pause, stop and wait on the Lord, it catches His attention!

Habakkuk 2:20 says “Let all the earth keep silence before Him”.

Humanity today is probably the busiest that God has ever observed. Modern wisdom seems to be: ‘if we are not busy running in a circle breathing down the back of our own necks, we are not effective’. We have to be seen to be doing something! But how can you find time to just think, if you are always active? And for the Christian, how can you ever hear the Lord’s quiet, still voice, if you are always busy?

Jesus said to the disciples ‘stay in the city until you have been clothed with power from on high’. (Luke 24:49) That’s what prayer does – it clothes you with power.

This is the power of the Lord that makes you effective.

Remember, your times of prayer do not need to be filled with activity like a fluttering butterfly, driven by a long list that you need the Lord to accomplish. Rather, soar and glide like an eagle seeking the Lord, waiting on the Lord - giving your time, your attention and your tongue to the Lord in prayer. Spend time every day just praying in the power of the Holy Spirit – let the Spirit of God lead your prayer life and watch what happens!

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Let the Spirit of God lead your prayer life and watch what happens!

祈禱 — 等候神

DD Banner (1).png

哈巴谷書2:20 唯耶和華在他的聖殿中,全地的人都當在他面前肅敬靜默。

在聖經裡中,哈巴谷書是在講異象這主題上的一本好書。在哈巴谷書 2:3中說要等候神的啟示。書裡說:「這默示有一定的日期」而且「即使緩慢,也要等候,因為這事終必發生」

那樣的默示(啟示)就是神的話語和異象。

我們面對最大的試探,就是過早或太衝忙地處理我們想到的事,到頭來跘倒的是我們自己。我們平日甚至連花幾分鐘來等交通燈,或在火車站走一小段路到另一個月台都不太願意!要我們什麼都不做,只一直等候,這會令人十分難熬。但是等候主的時候、靜聽主的道和領受主的啟示,比一切都來得更重要。

「禱告」就是你在等候主啟示時的答案。

你的禱告生活大多時候都是在「等候」。每當新的一天開始,單單的等候主,向祂祈禱,並且用你的時間來尊榮祂。這樣已吸引了主注視你的生命。上億人每天醒來,都趕著去做自己的事情,包括那些聲稱自己是認識神的人,也很少把神放在優先的位置。所以當有人願意等候祂時,就會吸引到神的注意。

哈巴谷書2:20 說:「全地的人都當在他面前肅敬靜默。」

當今的人類可能是神見過的最繁忙的一群。現代人的智慧似乎是說:「如果我們不是在繁忙當中,就沒有辦法得到想要的成果」。我們很在乎其他人是否看到我們正在辦事。但是,如果你總是在忙個不停,又怎會有時間去思考呢?對基督徒來說,如果你總是疲於奔命,你又怎能聽到主平靜而沉穩的聲音呢?

耶穌對門徒說:「你們要在城裡等候,直到你們領受從上頭來的能力。」(路加福音 24:49) 這就是祈禱所能做的 ── 禱告會以神的力量包裹著你。

這就是主讓你做事能有成果的力量。

請記住,你的禱告時間不需要像蝴蝶般忙著拍翼,拿著一個長長的清單去求主去完成。相反,要像老鷹一般,展翅翱翔地尋求、等待主 ── 把你的時間、注意力和口舌都在禱告中交給主。每天花時間靠著聖靈的力量禱告 ── 讓上帝的靈帶領你的祈禱生活,靜觀主帶來你生命的變化!

韋恩牧師


每日一思

讓上帝的靈帶領你的祈禱生活,靜觀主帶來你生命的變化!