PRAY – LISTENING

DD Banner (1).png

1 Samuel 3:10 Now the Lord came and stood and called as at other times, “Samuel! Samuel!” And Samuel answered, “Speak, for Your servant hears.”

If there’s one thing I want to learn more than perhaps anything else about prayer, it’s “learning to listen”.

Samuel said:“Speak Lord for Your servant hears”. Often, you can only listen when your mouth is closed. The same way you cannot listen intently to another person you are talking to, you cannot listen or even hear God if you are doing all the talking.

Being quiet and still is underrated. Our times, cities and lives are noisy.

The only way I can find a very quiet place in Hong Kong is early in the morning. But finding a quiet place or space although challenging, is a must.

Like the boy Samuel, we need to learn to hear the quiet voice of God in our heart. We need to learn to discern the sound of His voice. When the sounds of earth die down, the sounds of heaven become clearer.

But we also need to find space where we can be still. It’s not just being quiet, it’s also being still. When you are quiet and still, that’s often when you will do your best thinking and hearing.

I read a story of a conversation between the English poet, Samuel Taylor Coleridge and a Quaker woman. Coleridge told the woman how he had arranged the use of time so he would have no wasted hours. He said he memorized Greek while dressing and during breakfast. He went on with his list of other mental activities – making notes, reading, writing, ensuring no minute was wasted – until bedtime.

The Quaker woman listened, unimpressed. When Coleridge was finished with his explanation, she asked him a simple, searching question: “my friend, when do you think?”.

God might be having a difficult time getting through to us because we are a fast-paced generation. We seem to have no time to wait and be still, to listen and to answer God when He calls. Often the only reason a person doesn’t hear the call of God is because they are too busy to hear it.

As you pray take time to be silent, listening to the Lord. I have found praying for a while in my heavenly language activates the spirit and stills the mind. Try this. After 15 minutes or longer of praying in the Holy Spirit, then be silent, setting your mind on God and listening for His quiet, still voice. (1 Kings 19:12)

The key to hearing God’s quiet, still voice is to be quiet and still.

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

When you are quiet and still, you will do your best hearing and listening.

祈禱 — 聆聽

DD Banner (1) (1).png

撒母耳記上 3:10 耶和華又來站著,像前幾次一樣呼喚:『撒母耳,撒母耳!』他回答:『請說!僕人敬聽。』

在禱告這事上,如果說有一件我非學不可的,我想就是「學習聆聽」了。

撒母耳說:「請說,僕人敬聽!」很多時候,我們在閉嘴的時候才會聽見。就像我們不能跟一個人同時間又說話又聆聽;所以,我們也不可能對主一直說話,但又期望可以聽到主的聲音。

我們身處的時代,城市和生活都很嘈雜,「安靜地等候」- 這個概念早就被這個世代輕看了。

我在香港唯一可以找到安靜的地方,就是在清晨。雖然要找一個安靜的地方或空間是有點困難,但這是必須的。

就像撒母耳,我們需要學習聆聽主輕柔的聲音,亦要懂得辨別祂的聲音。當世界的聲音枯弱了,天國的聲音就會更清晰。

但我們也需要尋找一個可以讓我們靜下來的空間。一個不單單可以讓我們安靜,更可以使我們靜止下來的空間。當你的心靈感到平靜,這就是你最適合思考和聆聽的狀態。

我聽過一個故事,是關於英國的詩人柯勒・律治和貴格會一名女士的對話。柯勒告訴那位女士他如何分配時間,所以他不會把時間浪費掉。他會在穿衣和吃早餐時背誦希臘語。他繼陸續列出清單上的其他動腦筋的活動,例如做筆記、閱讀、寫作等——確保沒有浪費任何時間,一直到就寢的時間。

貴格會的女士聽著,卻不為所動。當律治解釋完之後,她問了他一個簡單而又充滿疑惑的問題:「我的朋友啊,那你在什麼時候思考?」

主要跟我們溝通也許不太容易,因為我們都出生在急促的年代。我們似乎沒有時間去等待和慢下來,去聆聽和回應主跟我們說的話。通常一個人沒辦法聽見主的說話,原因只有一個,就是他們沒有停下來聆聽。

當你禱告的時候,請安靜下來,傾聽主對你說的話。我發現在聖靈中禱告一段時間後,可以讓你的靈醒過來並靜下你的心。試一下,在聖靈禱告十五分鐘或更長的時間,然後靜下來,將你的思緒集中在神身上,傾聽祂輕柔的聲音(王上19:12)。

我們先身心都安靜下來,就是聽到主溫柔而堅定的聲音的關鍵。

韋恩牧師


每日一思

當你身心都安靜下來時,你就可以以最佳的狀態去傾聽。