PRAY – UNANSWERED PRAYER

DD Banner (3).png

Luke 18:1 Then Jesus told them a parable that they should always pray and not give up.

This great story of the persistent woman reveals the importance of persisting in prayer.

God will deal with your life in such a way that you will always have a need for prayer. If we all received our prayers immediately, we would cease to pray. And prayer is the oxygen to our spirit. Without prayer we spiritually die, through prayer, we spiritually come alive!

Prayer and spiritual maturity go together.

Understand that spiritual maturity is not self-sufficiency. When we pray for God to meet all our needs, often it’s not so we can then become an even greater blessing to others (2 Corinthians 9:11), what we really want is self-sufficiency.

But self-sufficiency can be a dangerous place because you become blind to the trap of no longer needing God, so you no longer pray or practice the spiritual disciplines that keep you connected to Him. To put it bluntly, we want God to give us more so we can depend on Him less.

Spiritual maturity, however, is a daily co-dependence on God. It's a place where we feel underqualified and overwhelmed. That’s where God wants us. That's where we learn to live with a raw dependence – and raw dependence is the raw material out of which God performs His greatest miracles.

And this is why Jesus told the story about the persistent woman, it was to teach us about prayer.

This woman’s “unanswered prayer” was a great, great blessing, because it developed the heart character and attitude we must all possess. A dogged determination to push through and not give up.

The power of prayer is not always the power to change circumstances but the power to carry on.

I don’t know what you are struggling with or believing for today (which may have been for a long time). But like the persistent woman who never gave up, prayer is your source of power to carry on, to press through and to not give up.

True success is a derivative of prayer and persistence.

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

The power of prayer is not always the power to change circumstances but the power to carry on.

祈禱 — 未蒙應允的禱告

DD Banner (1) (1).png

路加福音18:1 耶穌設一個比喻,是要人常常禱告,不可灰心。

這個百折不撓的婦人的故事,揭示了堅持不懈地禱告的重要性。

你需要常常禱告,因為這樣神才能參與到你的生活中。如果有很多人的禱告立即被應允,他們就會停止禱告。而禱告是人類屬靈的氧氣。沒有禱告,我們在靈性上就是死亡的,只有通過禱告,我們在屬靈上才是活著!

禱告和屬靈生命的發展是相輔相成的。

屬靈生命的發展並不能靠我們自給自足。但很多時候,我們禱告,並不是因為我們想要成為別人更大的祝福(哥林多後書9:11),而是求神供應我們的需要,令我們可以自給自足。

但自給自足的思維是很危險的,會讓我們不知不覺地跌入「不再需要神」的陷阱中。我們不再去禱告,不再實踐屬靈的法則,亦因此無法保持和神的聯繫。坦率說,我們總是希望神給我們多一點,所以我們可以依賴祂少一點。

然而,屬靈生命的成長是要靠著每日與神同行,就是當我們覺得自己不勝任,和覺得吃不消的時候 ── 那是神渴望我們倚靠祂的時候。神就是要們學習如何單單倚靠祂,讓祂為我們的生命成就偉大的奇跡。

這正正就是耶穌用這個百折不撓的婦人的例子來教導禱告的原因。

那婦人「未蒙垂聽的禱告」,是一個非常非常大的祝福;因為它塑造出我們都應該有的心靈品質和態度。我們必須要擁有頑強的決心,不斷前進,永不退縮。

禱告的力量很多時候不是在於改變境況,而在提供力量讓我們繼續堅持下去。

我不知道你今天或一直在奮鬥或堅信的是什麼,但就像這個從未放棄、堅持不懈的婦人一樣,你要用禱告去作為自己要堅持下去的動力源泉,不要氣餒。

成功,就是從禱告和堅持衍生出來的。

韋恩牧師


每日一思

禱告的力量很多時候不是在於改變境況,而在提供力量讓我們繼續堅持下去。