WE EXIST TO BE IN GOD'S FAMILY

4.png

Hebrews 2:10-11 In bringing many sons and daughters to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists…  Both the one who makes people holy and those who are made holy are of the same family.

You exist because you were created to be in God’s family.

Your biological family is a good illustration of this – the reason you exist is that you were created as the offspring of your parents and you become family. Likewise, all of creation exists because God created it and He created humanity to be in a relationship with Him – family. And in the same way you do not choose your family, the pathway into a relationship with God is not determined by you, but by God - it’s through His Son, Christ Jesus.

Ephesians 1:5 says, His unchanging plan has always been to adopt us into His own family by bringing us to Himself through Jesus Christ.

The invitation to be part of God’s family is universal to all people of all colors and race. But there is one pathway – faith in Jesus Christ. “You are all children of God through faith in Jesus Christ” (Galatians 3:26).

Baptism is the formal celebration and declaration of your faith in Jesus. It’s like your graduation ceremony after completion of your university degree. You have now completed your degree and Graduation is your formal recognition of that. Likewise, Baptism is not optional, it is commanded by God and signifies to yourself and to the world, that you are in God’s family.

Don’t delay your Baptism, be obedient and be baptized.

The moment you are spiritually born into God’s family, you share in the inheritance of Christ Jesus. This means everything that belongs to Jesus also belongs to you – you are joint-heirs! (Galatians 4:7; Romans 8:17)

The word “Salvation” reveals what belongs to you in your inheritance. In the Greek, it’s the word “Soteria” or “Sozo” which means:

  • Deliverance from sickness, disease, condemnation, shame, and death;
  • Provision of righteousness, healing, wellbeing, prosperity, forgiveness, eternal life.

One of the great spiritual truths we read in the Scriptures is: “in Christ Jesus, we all belong to the same family”. It doesn’t matter what your skin color is, what your education level, how rich or poor you are, what language you can speak or what your cultural background. If you are a follower of Jesus you are part of the same family and need to treat each other likewise.

Being a part of God’s family is the highest honor and privilege you can receive in this life. You might achieve some lofty heights in business, politics, sports or the arts, but remember it will never come close to the heights of being a child in the family of the Most High God.

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Being included in God’s family is the highest honor and privilege you will ever receive.

我們受造,成為神的家人

5.png

希伯來書2:10-11 作為萬物的歸宿和根源的上帝... 帶領許多的兒女進入榮耀,這樣的安排是恰當的。 因為使人聖潔的耶穌和那些得以聖潔的人都出自同一位父親...

你被創造,因而生在神的家中,這正正是你存在的意義。

想想你原生的家庭 — 父母生了你,你就成為他們的後代和家人。同樣,世上一切事物都是由神創造而存在,人為此要成為神的家人。正如你無法選擇你的家庭,怎樣與神成為一家人,也不由你而是由神決定 — 要通過他的獨生愛子耶穌基督。

以弗所書1:5……就按著自己的意旨所喜悅的,預定我們藉著耶穌基督得兒子的名分。

神邀請全人類 — 不分膚色、不分種族 — 成為他家庭的一份子。但通往神的家只有一條路,就是相信耶穌基督。“所以,你們因信基督耶穌,都是神的兒子“(加拉太書3:26)。

洗禮,是正式慶祝和公開宣告你相信耶穌,好像你修畢大學學位,就以一場畢業禮正式確認。洗禮絕非可有可無。這是神的命令,你要通過受洗,向自己、向世界宣告,你正式成為神家的一份子。

因此不要再拖延,要服從神的吩咐,儘快受洗。

當在屬靈上生在神的家裡,你就與耶穌基督一同承繼天國的產業 — 耶穌的,就是你的。你就是神的兒子、後裔,與基督共得榮耀!(加拉太書4:7;羅馬書8:17)

“救恩“(Salvation)一詞揭示了你有哪些產業。它的原文希臘語是“Soteria” 或“Sozo” ,意味著:

  • 從病患、罪疚、羞恥和死亡中釋放出來;
  • 供應義、醫治、安康、豐盛、赦免、永生。

《聖經》其中一個最棒的屬靈真理,是我們在耶穌基督中都是一家人。不論膚色、教育水平、貧富、語言或文化背景,只要你跟隨耶穌,你就是基督的家人,也要對待彼此如同家人。

成為神的家人,是你這生可得到的最高榮耀、最尊貴身份。可能你在商場、政壇、體育界或藝術圈成就斐然、備受尊崇,但要記住,這一切的高度,都遠不及成為至高神的兒子。

韋恩牧師


今日所思

成為神的家人,是你此生可得的最高榮耀。