FELLOWSHIP TAKES COMMITMENT

4.png

James 3:18 You can develop a healthy, robust community that lives right with God and enjoy its results only if you do the hard work of getting along with each other, treating each other with dignity and honor. (MSG)

Fellowship brings great rewards but it always requires commitment.

Only the Holy Spirit of God can create true, meaningful fellowship in the household of God and this fellowship manifests as the people of God walk in the platinum attitudes of God – love, humility, thanksgiving, selflessness, and honor.

Today in the 21st Century, many people have grown up in broken, dysfunctional families and have never been taught or had modeled what healthy fellowship looks like. Thus, they lack the relational and emotional skills needed for real fellowship. Today, an important teaching of the church is simply to train believers how to relate to one another. James calls it the “hard work of getting along with each other…”

Fellowship will not just happen – it takes commitment on our behalf.

Fellowship requires honesty. There will be times when you have to care enough to speak the truth, even when it is easier to sweep it under the carpet. Real love notices when a fellow Believer is drifting away, or distracted by something that will slowly harm them. This is where fellowship is important because it can prevent Believers being deceived and enticed away from the church family of God.

But there is a way to talk honestly to one another. 1 Timothy 5:1-2 says:

Do not rebuke an older man harshly, but exhort him as if he were your father. Treat younger men as brothers, older women as mothers, and younger women as sisters, with absolute purity.

Fellowship also requires humility. Self-importance, pride, and self-seeking attitudes will destroy fellowship faster than anything else. In the same way, these vices destroy marriages on a day-by-day basis, they will destroy the church and the devil uses them as weapons to break God’s church.

Fellowship clothes itself with humility. 1 Peter 5:5 says “…clothe yourselves with humility towards one another…”

Humility is the oil that softens and soothes relationship tension. Humility opens the door to God’s grace. 1 Peter 5:5 goes on to say that “…God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” Grace is what causes us to grow, change, heal and help one another. But pride is literally living in opposition to God!

Understand that humility is not thinking less of yourself, it’s just thinking of yourself less. The way to achieve this life in God is by thinking more of God, it’s by seeking first His Kingdom and righteousness (Matthew 6:33).

Become a person who is committed to fellowship in your church.

The early church devoted themselves to fellowship continuing to meet in church and in homes (Acts 2:42,46). This is God’s desire for His church today.

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Become a person who is committed to fellowship.

參加團契需要全情投入

5.png

雅各書 3:18 只要你竭盡所能彼此和睦共處,互相尊重,你就可以培育一個健康、穩固、又合神心意的群體。

門徒之間建立友誼和關係會帶來極好的影響,但需要你全情投入。

要建立真實而又有意義的團契,只有在神的聖靈參與才能做到。當神的子民在這樣的團契中,就能培養出金子般的品質:仁愛、謙卑、感恩、無私和尊重。

在當今的二十一世紀,許多人在關係破碎,功能缺失的家庭長大,從來沒有人教導他們,或是作健康關係的榜樣。所以,他們缺乏建立真實關係的社交和情感表達技巧。今天的教會需要重點教導信徒怎樣與他人建立關係。雅各稱之為“竭盡所能彼此和睦相處…..”。
 
門徒建立關係和友誼不是自然而然的事,事真上需要我們投入參與。

建立關係和友誼需要彼此願意坦誠。即使在人們覺得不以為然的時候,也要時時小心講誠實話。真正的愛才能讓你注意到團契中某個信徒在漸漸疏遠,或者被某些慢慢腐蝕他們的事情拖離。這就是為什麼團契如此重要,它能阻止信徒被欺騙,誘惑而離開神的家 ── 教會。

怎樣做才是彼此說誠實話呢?提摩太前書5:1-2:

不可嚴責老年人,只要勸他如同父親,勸少年人如同弟兄。勸老年婦女如同母親,勸少年婦女如同姐妹。總要清清潔潔的。

建立關係和友誼也需要謙卑。與其他事情相比,自負、驕傲和利己主義對團契的破壞是最快的。這些惡習正在一天一天地毀壞婚姻的根基,魔鬼也以此為武器拆毀神的教會。 

建立關係和友誼需要信徒謙卑。彼得前書5:5 “……就是你們眾人也都要以謙卑束腰……”

謙卑好似油,軟化緩和緊張的關係。謙卑打開神的恩典之門。彼得前書5:5 “……神阻擋驕傲的人,賜恩給謙卑的人。” 恩典使我們成長、改變、被醫治、彼此幫助。驕傲卻是活在與神背道而馳的軌道上。 

要明白,謙卑不是不顧念你自己,而是顧念自己少一點。能夠活出謙卑的生命,需要多想念神,先求祂的國和祂的義(馬太福音6:33)。

成為一個在你教會團契中全身投入的信徒吧!

初期教會的信徒身心投入參與團契,恒切地在教會和家中相聚(使徒行傳2:42,46)。這也是神今日對教會的心意。

韋恩牧師


今日所思

成為一個在團契中全身投入的信徒。