FAITH IN THE LIVING WELL

Mar Web Banner_V2.PNG

Genesis 26:1-3 Now there was a famine in the land…and Isaac went down to Abimelek king of the Philistines in Gerar. The Lord appeared to Isaac and said, “Do not go down to Egypt; live in the land where I tell you to live… and I will be with you and bless you.

God told Isaac not to go down to Egypt. Despite the famine in the land, the Lord said He would be with Isaac and would bless him.

This is such a powerful promise for us today if we will receive it, especially when experiencing times of downturn.

Even in the middle of a famine, Isaac was blessed and reaped a hundred-fold harvest. No one else in the land reaped a blessing. Why was that? It was because Isaac was “blessed by the Lord.”

Genesis 26:12 says, “…because the Lord blessed him.

How awesome is that! This is true freedom! To know that success, blessing, and promotion are not based on your effort, hard work or what you have to do – but it's based on the blessing that comes through the Lord.

When you think the blessing is based on you – if it is not coming, you will start working harder, longer and what eventually happens is you burn out or your family burns out! You might have some financial blessing because of all your hard work, but there is also a trail of losses along the way – lost marriage, lost family, lost time, lost purpose.

As Isaac, you are a child of promise. The blessing of Abraham also belongs to you.

Galatians 3:29 says that if you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise. Now here is the truth when it comes to receiving all of the blessings of Abraham that is yours through Christ... it’s being Christ conscious, not self-conscious.

Christ conscious people see their blessing as a consequence of their position in Christ or what Christ has done for them.

Self-conscious people see their blessing as a consequence of their condition or what they have to do.

If you read the entire chapter of Genesis 26, you will note that a key to Isaac’s blessing was his wells. His wells were flowing. And everyone else’s wells were dried up. This is a powerful metaphor for us today. Those wells are a picture of Christ who is our Living Well today!

Jesus said in John 4 that He is the Living Well. He was talking to the Samaritan woman and said that living waters flow from Him. This is why you can be blessed and overflowing in your life even in the midst of economic famines. It’s because the source of your blessing and prosperity comes from within, and not from the outside.

Be Christ conscious every day. Don’t be self-conscious by thinking it is all up to you. Let Jesus bring all His blessings to you. Let Jesus deal with all your problems for you. This is called letting go and letting God!

Pastor Wayne Simpson


THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Be Christ conscious and see blessing flowing even in times of downturn.

活水泉源的信心

Mar Web Banner_V2.PNG

創世紀26:1-3 在亞伯拉罕的日子,那地有一次饑荒。以撒就往基拉爾去,到非利士人的王亞比米勒哪裡。耶和華向以撒顯現,說:「你不要下埃及去,要往在我所指示你的地。你寄居在這地,我必與你同在,賜福給你。」

神告訴以撒不要去埃及。即使全地饑荒,神說祂與以撒同在,並會賜福給他。

特別是當我們陷入絕境的時候,如果能夠打開心來領受,這將會是何等大能的應許。

儘管在饑荒當中,以撒在那地撒種,就有百倍的收成。沒有任何人擁有如此祝福。為甚麼呢?是因為以撒得著「神的祝福」。

12節中說「……因為耶和華賜福給他。」

何等美好的祝福!這才是真正的自由!當所有的成功、祝福、升職並不需要依靠自己的勞力和工作 — 而是來自神的祝福。

當你認為祝福是靠自己的努力時,當祝福沒有來到,你就會開始加倍工作的量、時間,逐漸耗盡你和你家的精力。你可能因為辛勤工作而得到財務上的富裕,但也因此付出沉重代價 — 婚姻失敗、家庭破碎、耗費光陰、生命失去意義。

就像以撒,你也是應許之子,亞伯拉罕的祝福同樣也屬於你。

加拉太書3:29 你們既屬乎基督,就是亞伯拉罕的後裔,是照著應許承受產業的了。事實上,因著基督你也擁有亞伯拉罕的祝福,不是靠自我意識,乃是基督的意識。

「基督意識」的人知道祝福來自於在基督裡的位份,是基督所成就的一切。

「自我意識」的人認為祝福是靠著天時地利和自己努力。

閱讀創世紀26章,你會發現以撒獲得祝福的關鍵是他的泉源。他的泉源依然是活的,其他人的源頭都已經乾歇。對於今天的我們,這是重要的啟示:那口活水泉源,就是耶穌基督。

耶穌在約翰福音4章說祂就是「活水泉源」。當祂與撒瑪利亞婦人交談的時候,祂說「我所賜的水要在他裡頭成為泉源」。當你面臨經濟困難、饑荒時,祝福也是源源不斷地湧流。因為你裡頭有祝福和豐盛的泉源,而不是靠外在。

每一天,我們都要有基督意識。不要被自我意識充滿,認為要完全靠自己。讓耶穌祝福你,讓祂去處理你所有的問題,這就是放開雙手,讓神的大能運行吧!

韋恩牧師


每日一思

擁有基督的意識,即使在困境中依然福杯滿溢。